Events

Speech to the Royal Geographic Society

Christian’s speech to the Royal Geographic Society in 2006 on the Subterranean Railway. Proceeds from the event were given to the Railway Children. Photo by Robert Lampard.

Christian Wolmar is a regular speaker at conferences, meetings and seminars both in the UK and abroad on transport and, specifically, rail matters. He often speaks at conferences on the latest development in the rail and transport industries and gives lectures on all his rail history books

Christian gives around 30 talks per year and has spoken all around the country, as well as in Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, France, the United States and Australia where he has twice been invited to provide his expertise. He has given two lectures at the Royal Geographic Society.

 

Forthcoming events:

No events are listed.

 

Past events:

Nov 2014

Fire and Steam – Monday, November 10 2014
How the railways made London – Wednesday, November 12 2014
The transsiberian railway – Thursday, November 20 2014

Dec 2014

Derby Rail meeting on HS2 – Thursday, December 4 2014
What is franchising for? – Wednesday, December 10 2014

Oct 2016

American railway history – Tuesday, October 25 2016

Nov 2016

Fire and Steam, the history of Britain's railways – Tuesday, November 8 2016
Skipton East Lancs Rail Action Partnership: The future of rail – Monday, November 14 2016
Reviewing the railway revolution with Nigel Harris and Christian Wolmar – Tuesday, November 15 2016
Transsiberian Railway - Henley – Thursday, November 17 2016
Global conquest: How railways took over the world – Tuesday, November 29 2016

Dec 2016

Transsiberian Railway – Monday, December 5 2016
Vale of Berkeley Railway Society – Thursday, December 15 2016

 

Events archive:

To see older events (prior to Autumn 2014), please see the archived events listing.


 

 

Public SpeakingBooking Christian for speaking engagements or to chair meetings:

If you are interested in inviting Christian to speak, please use the form on the Contact page. His fee varies according to the type of organisation and event, though of course he will speak free at charity events.

“I just wanted to thank you for all your effort as chair of the Transport conference yesterday. Many other members of GovNet staff noted how well you handled proceedings, especially during some difficult questions from delegates.”

Jay Patel, Programme Manager, Govnet Events

Shares